Photocathode Physics for Photoinjectors (P3) 2012

Photoinjectors represent the technology of choice for generating high brightness electron beams for many modern linear accelerators. Photoinjectors continue to demonstrate tremendous progress (e.g. see here) in generating ultra-high brightness and high average current beams enabling next-generation accelerators. A critical component of photoinjectors is the photocathode. It must produce an electron beam with stringent requirements on emittance, temporal response, lifetime and in some cases polarization to match the properties needed for a particular application.


This 3-day workshop at Cornell University (October 8-10, 2012) will review the current state of the art in photocathodes for accelerators from theoretical, materials science, and operational perspectives, and will establish directions for future research and opportunities for collaboration and explore a community-driven platform for information exchange on this important research subject.

Topics will include:

  • Current status of photocathodes for accelerator applications
  • Current fabrication methods and photocathode performance
  • Applications of modern materials science to the growth and analysis of photocathodes
  • Utilization of modern techniques and user facilities (e.g. photoemission spectroscopy, x-ray techniques, etc.)
  • Photoemission theory
  • Operational issues
  • Novel ideas in cathode development
  • Discussion forum on future collaboration for cathode growth, analysis, and testing

The organizers envision a workshop format that will allow plenty of time for discussion. There will be relatively few scheduled talks in each session, with most of the time allotted to short informal presentations and discussions.

We will have visiting speakers from the major laboratories and universities involved in research and development of photocathodes for electron machines.

Most attendees will not have scheduled presentations, but every attendee is encouraged to bring 3-4 slide mini-talks on topics of interest, both to explore new ideas and to stimulate discussion.

Organizing Committee/Affiliation

  • Ivan Bazarov (Cornell University)
  • Luca Cultrera (Cornell University)
  • David Dowell (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • Bruce Dunham (Cornell University)
  • Fay Hannon (Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility)
  • Katherine Harkay (Argonne National Lab)
  • Carlos Hernandez Garcia (Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility)
  • Wayne Hess (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)
  • Sven Lederer (DESY)
  • Howard Padmore (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • Triveni Rao (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
  • Daniele Sertore (INFN Milano)
  • John Smedley (Brookhaven National Laboratory)